Meet: Sean Wakely

Meet intern number two!

Interview Image Sean

Name: Sean Wakely

Age: 20

Location: Onehunga, Auckland.

Portfolio: http://www.behance.net/seanjonw3cb3

What are you working on right now?
Pretty much assignments and FRANK work non-stop.

Why is being creative important in your life?
Creativity is important because it helps with thinking differently in different situations and I think being able to think differently creates better things and ideas.

What daily habits do you have?
I have a habit of doodling when trying to do work, always have and I think always will.

What’s your favorite thing you have ever created?
I would say I never really have one favorite. One thing I really do like at the moment is a screen-printed type poster I did last year. For me screen-printing was an absolute mission and nothing seemed to go right, but I still really enjoyed what came out of it. It was a great example of how good things can be created out of mistakes.

If you could have another skill, what would it be and why?
I’ve always thought being a really good musician and being able to perform or play for people would be awesome.

What’s the best advice you ever had about how to be more creative?
“Nobody tells this to people who are beginners, I wish someone told me. All of us who do creative work, we get into it because we have good taste. But there is this gap. For the first couple years you make stuff, it’s just not that good. It’s trying to be good, it has potential, but it’s not. But your taste, the thing that got you into the game, is still killer. And your taste is why your work disappoints you. A lot of people never get past this phase, they quit. Most people I know who do interesting, creative work went through years of this. We know our work doesn’t have this special thing that we want it to have. We all go through this. And if you are just starting out or you are still in this phase, you gotta know its normal and the most important thing you can do is do a lot of work. Put yourself on a deadline so that every week you will finish one story. It is only by going through a volume of work that you will close that gap, and your work will be as good as your ambitions. And I took longer to figure out how to do this than anyone I’ve ever met. It’s gonna take awhile. It’s normal to take awhile. You’ve just gotta fight your way through.” – Ira Glass

Why are you interning for FRANK?
As part of university this year we have to do an internship. The opportunity to intern at FRANK came up and I jumped at it. I really believe in what FRANK is doing and wanted to be a part of it. It’s an awesome group of people to be working with plus I feel like I’m contributing to something really meaningful which is what I want to make sure I keep doing throughout my career.

Where will you be in 2 years, and what will you be doing?
Hopefully studying for a Masters degree overseas.

Tell us what you think....

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

Photofocus

education and inspiration for visual storytellers

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

allthingsmommydotnet

This WordPress.com site is here to help you do it all and stay sane!

Luke Sheard

Life isn't about finding yourself. It's about creating yourself.

LOVE WITH NO AGENDA

To inspire thought, feelings, reflection and challenge

offashionerd

Just another WordPress.com site

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

FRANK Stationery

You Buy One, We Give One

